New dish of the week…

For Christmas my sister gave me a Vegetarian cook book so I could “eat something other than rice and beans”. I don’t eat rice and beans every night, but I do agree that when it comes to me cooking for myself I have been lacking variety since I became a vegetarian. So I have set myself the personal challenge to try cook one new thing each week.

Week 1: Potato omelette.

What you need:

  • baby potatoes
  • dried chilly
  • 6 eggs
  • olive oil
  • clove of garlic
  • spinach
  • sundried tomato
  • sesame seeds
  • balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper

What to do:

  1. Pre boil the potatoes. When they have cooled chop them into chunks. Peel the garlic and heat in a pan with some olive oil. Fry the potato chunks, add some dried chillly if you want a little spice. IMAG1204
  2. Crack all 6 eggs into a big bowl and whisk to break up the yolks. Remove the clove of garlic from the pan and pour the egg in.IMAG1206
  3. Once the bottom of the omelette has cooked, take the pan off the heat and place under the grill to cook. IMAG1207
  4. Once the top is golden brown you can turn off the heat and cut up the omelette. To make the side salad mix the spinach, sundried tomatoes, sesame seeds in a bowl with a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar and a little salt and pepper for flavour.

IMAG1208IMAG1209