Homemade Soy Candles

IMAG1718coverI’m obsessed with candles, I spend a fortune on them, I can’t live without them. Recently I found an ebay seller that imports Bath&Body 3 wick candles from the States and I nearly broke the bank feeding my addiction. So I thought to myself it was about time I tried my hand at some candle making. I did a little research on YouTube and Pinterest and found that soy wax flakes are the easiest to work with and a better option for candles. Soy wax burns slower and cleaner, it last 3 times longer than regular wax candles and doesn’t release any toxins into the air that could be harmful to your body. It also has a beautiful clean white colour when it is set which I really loved. I bought all my supplies on ebay and they were very inexpensive, costing less than £10 for 500g of Soy wax flakes, 100 pre-waxed wicks with metal fasteners and Rose a scented perfume oil. From this I made Bath&Body Works sized 3-wick candle (approx. £18-£20) and a smaller sized candles (£8).

IMAG1702editYou Will Need:

  • 500g Soy Wax flakes
  • Wicks
  • Essential Oil suitable for candle making
  • Glue dots
  • Empty container
  • Clothes Pegs
  • Skewers

What to do:

  1. Prepare your candle container by using glue dots to stick the wicks to the base of the container. Secure the wicks with clothes pegs or skewers (I found the skewers actually work best) so they don’t sag when the wax in added.IMAG1705edit
  2. Fill a pot with water and bring it to the boil. Into the pot put the container you intend to melt the wax in, I used a mug. I allow this a few minutes to heat up in the boiling water. Pour the wax flakes into the container and allow them to melt completely.IMAG1706edit
  3. Add in a good amount of your essential oil (I used 2/3 of a bottle on my 3-wick candle) and stir to mix through the melted wax. Pour the melted wax into your prepared container. Allow the candles at least 12hours to sit and set completely before lighting. IMAG1713

IMAG1718 IMAG1722IMG_1583