Current Beauty Favourites

Featured image

I didn’t get around to putting a favourites post together in March or April, so I decided to do a favourites update post to share some of my current beauty favourites for Spring 15!IMG_1778edi Lipglosses:

I haven’t used lipgloss in years. I don’t like the sticky texture on my lips, especially when the wind would blow my hair onto my face and it would end up sticking to my lips. For the last couple of years I have much preferred lipsticks, but when I saw NYX and Rimmels range of Matte glosses I was curious to try them out. I love the softness of these matte glosses, they are much kinder to the lips than most matte lipsticks which tend to dry out the lips. They go on wet and then dry and set to a matte finish after a few minutes which means you also have way more control over application. I am especially loving Rimmel’s Apocalips in Bang Bang this one doesn’t have a matte finish but is more like a liquid lipstick; it  goes on smooth and creamy and has amazing pigment!

IMG_1777edit Lipsticks:

I haven’t abandoned lipstick completely however, and have been loving the pastels and brights that are showing up this Spring. My favourite pastels to wear at the moment are BarryM Lip-Paint in 129, which is a pale lilac colour and really pretty; and Maybelline Color Sensational Rebel Bouquet Lipstick in Pink Petal. My favourite brights are both from the Avon Ultra Colour Bold Lipsticks collection, Bright Nectar and Peony Pop. The Ultra Colour Bold Lipsticks by Avon have received many great reviews and featured in Glamour, Look and Reveal, with women stating they are as good for pigment and staying power as Mac Lipsticks. I have to say that the pigment in these lipsticks are amazing, they go on exactly the colour they appear and while they may not last as long on the lips as a Mac Retro Matte lipstick they are a close second.

IMG_1780editEyes:

When I was at home over the Easter holidays I decided (after lusting over my sister’s) that it was time I invested in an Urban Decay eye palette. I loved the rose gold and pink hues of the Naked3 palette, with my favourite colours so far being Strange, Trick, Limit and Nooner. If you don’t already have one of Urban Decay’s eye palettes I highly recommend them; the colour selection in each is beautiful and can be combined to achieve so many different looks from subtle to smoky!IMG_1788editNails:

As I have mentioned before I love Essie‘s range of nail polishes. They are my favourite by far for colour selection and chip resistance. I love that I can apply these on a Sunday evening and they will last me the week at work with hardly any chipping. My favourite colours for Spring so far have been Blanc, Fiji, Lovie Dovie, Peach Daiquiri, Lilacism, and Mint Candy Apple. I also highly recommend their good-to-go top coat which is quick drying, has a great glossy finish and provides extra protection for a loner lasting manicure! Essie nail polishes are available at most Boots stores.  IMG_1792editSkincare:

Ingrid Nilson featured Simple’s Micellar cleansing water in a recent Haul video so I decided to try it out for myself. I have to say I agree with her love of this product, it is so soothing on the skin and really powerful when it comes to cleansing. I had never tried a Micellar water before but this one is the best cleanser I have ever used for removing make-up; it removes everything without having to scrub until your face is red and raw and it leaves your skin feeling fresh and tingly after. If your thinking about trying a Micellar water this should be your first option.
IMG_1794edit Hand-cream:

Finally, on my long list of favourites this Spring, comes hand-cream. This Winter/Spring I have suffered really badly with dry skin on my hands, it’s not a problem I’ve had in the past but we did have particularly cold, dry, windy weather in London over the last few months and I think that was the cause. I tried a few different hand-creams over the Winter along with wearing gloves to stop the wind drying my skin out, but these creams by Pecksniff’s England are my favourite so far. They came in a gift set with 6 different fragrances, and I loved the pretty colours of the packaging. I carry one in my handbag now all the time and have one left in each of the bathrooms in my flat to use after I wash my hands. The smells are lovely but not over-powering and the cream itself provides great moisture, dries into your skin quickly and doesn’t have a greasy residue.