In Heaven on Day 7

Day 7, one full week down on the Love My Body Challenge with Fully Raw Kristina, Today I decided to bake some vegan treats in the kitchen, because it’s Sunday and who doesn’t love something sweet after dinner on a Sunday?

The first vegan treat I whipped up was this delicious apple crumble.

IMG_3208

This dessert is quick and easy to make and is gluten and dairy free with no added sugar. Sounds too good to be true, but it IMG_3192tastes as good as it looks and is super healthy. To make this crumble I first heated up and pan and lightly cooked 2 pink lady apples and 1 handful of raisins with a good splash of agave nectar. When these were beginning to brown on the outside I tipped them into a bowl and topped with 1 cup of gluten free organic oats. To make sure the oats brown up nicely I added about 2 more tablespoons of agave nectar and a dusting of cinnamon. I then baked the dish at 180’C for 40 mins.

For my second sweet treat I adapted a recipe by TheNotSoPlainJayne and made some super healthy vegan cookies. IMG_3200These were so tasty and really easy to make. First I blended 2 ripe bananas, 1 handful peanuts, 2-3 tablespoons agave nectar and a teaspoon of vanilla essence to make the wet ingredients. I then added this to a mixing bowl with 1 and half cups gluten free oats and 1 cup of raisins. I mixed these well then spooned the mixture onto a baking tray and baked for 20 minutes.

IMG_3209Being vegan doesn’t mean restricting yourself and denying yourself the foods you enjoy, it means thinking more creatively about food and how you can create a dish. For more vegan recipes check out my Love My Body Challenge tab.