Creamy Curry on Day 11

This Curry was so creamy, smooth and spicy. I loved the contrast of the pale curry on the bed of black rice. This meal was truly satisfying and delicious and didn’t leave me feeling heavy and over full like a Chinese take away might. To make this delicious creamy curry I first boiled a cup of black rice for 35 mins. While the rice was cooking I prepared the curry sauce by blending up a handful of cashews, a handful of peanuts, 2 tablespoons of curry powder, half a red chilli pepper, one clove garlic and 2 cups coconut milk. When this was blended to a smooth creamy consistency I poured it into a pan and heated on low heat for 1-2 minutes. Then I turned off the heat and stirred  in 1 diced red bell pepper, 1 portobello mushroom and about 10 cherry tomatoes. When the rice was ready I drained off the remaining water and served up my dish. This looked so good that my boyfriend thought I was eating chicken curry, mushrooms make a great substitute for meat.IMG_3234