Homemade Soy Candles #2

IMG_2988 IMG_2991

Candle making take two and I’ve learned a few things. This time my results were much better and I wanted to share some tips and tricks that I used to improve my homemade scented soy candles.

IMG_2984

This time I used a metal milk pot to melt down the soy wax flakes. The milk pot was the perfect size for filling my containers too.

IMG_2993 IMG_2997 IMG_3002

This time I didn’t add the fragrance oil until the wax had completely melted on the heat was turned off. This way the oils didn’t evaporate from the wax as it was melting and the result was a much more fragrant candle.

IMG_3011

This time I double stuck my wicks so that the sticky dots didn’t melt as easily in the hot wax as they did the first time I made candles. Also, this time I used skewer sticks rather then clothes pegs, the were a much more stable support for holding the wicks up in the hot wax until it had set.

IMG_3015Why spend money on candles when you can make your own so easily and inexpensively. Soy wax burns cleanly and lasts twice as long as paraffin blend waxes. Not only that the fumes from soy candles are non-hazardous to your health, unlike some of the toxins in other candles.

If you want more tips on candle making have a look at my other post.