Birthday in Paradise

So I know what you’re thinking, “wasn’t her birthday like weeks ago?”; it’s true, it was but I never got the chance to share with you the amazing day I spent with my boyfriend in Sardegna. As part of my travel diary I wanted to share some photographs from day 2 of my amazing holiday,  which also happened to be my birthday.
IMG_4363

IMG_4367

The day started off with a cappuccino and a croissant in a little bar in San Vito, before we packed up our beach bag and cool box and headed to the coast. My boyfriend specifically chose this amazing secluded cove as he wanted to share with me one of his favourite spots on the island since he was a child. This beach had golden sand, clear blue waters, and best of all, very few people!

IMG_4369

Unfortunately for us the weather took a turn for the worst, and what we thought would be a light summer shower, turned into a wild thunder storm. At first we thought it would blow over and were adamant to sit it out, under the cover of our sun umbrella; however when the other people started to pack up and our umbrella got so wet that the water started to drip through the material, we knew it was time to make a run for it. By the time we reached the car we were saturated and as I struggled to find my keys in my bag it started to hail! I swear those hail stones were the biggest I’ve ever seen in my life, more like ice rocks. IMG_4379

IMG_4389

After getting back home, showering the sand off and putting some dry clothes on it was time to head out for dinner. By now the storm had cleared so we headed to Costa Corallo, a few minutes away from San Vito, to an amazing beach side bistro. The fish, and food in general, was so fresh here.

IMG_4405

IMG_4403

IMG_4402

IMG_4408

Of course, what birthday dinner would be complete without a cake and a candle?

IMG_4412

IMG_4419

IMG_4439

To finish our adventurous second day, we headed for some gelato and sat on the beach to watch the stars. The sky was so clear that even the camera captured to stars, something you don’t experience in London.

IMG_4438

IMG_4428