Body Reboot Part 2

Welcome to part 2 of my Body Reboot series, today I will be sharing how I find peace with my body through my mind. All love begins with self love; you cannot expect other people to love and accept you as you are if you yourself don’t. Body shaming has become a huge problem, the power of the internet is seeing more and more young men and women becoming ashamed of their bodies because it doesn’t reflect societies image of perfection. Firstly, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, therefore what one person considers beautiful may not be seen in the same way by another; so considering that philosophy, can anyone tell me what perfection really is? The answer is, it doesn’t exist.
IMG_4897

IMG_4982

IMG_4987

If you continuously compare yourself to the models and celebrities online and in magazines, you are setting yourself up for a fail as 90% of the time the images we see have been edited and photoshopped. Instead look at yourself, really look, and this time don’t look for the flaws.

IMG_4952

IMG_5030

Now I’m not saying that I never have negative thoughts about myself, it has taken me a long time and a lot of self-hating to get to a point where I can look in the mirror and be proud of what I see. This is not because I believe myself to be in perfect physical shape, its simply because I have learned to love my body as it is; and that is the first step to self-improvement, loving what you have, understanding what your body can do and then work to be the best version of yourself that you can be, don’t work to be like someone else.

IMG_5053

IMG_5085

A lot of people think the way to body happiness is through diet, wrong. The way to body happiness is through mindfulness; mindfully being aware of your body, how it changes as you grow and age, what it can do, how far it can go and what are the things that stop it from working at its best? That’s where the nutrition comes in, I refuse to say diet here as I feel the word ‘diet’ has too many restrictive stigmas connected to it; nutrition is step 2. So let’s reflect: love yourself, love your body, be mindful of who your are, be mindful of nutrition.

IMG_5049

IMG_5062

Once you love, accept and understand your body, being mindful of nutrition will become second nature because you will know, by listening to your body, which foods make you feel good and which don’t. It all starts with changing the way you think about yourself, love yourself and the rest will follow. I can’t stress enough how helpful yoga has been to me in finding inner peace, it has completely changed the way I think about and see myself. For me, I always looked at myself and saw limitations, “I can’t…” “I’m not…” “I’ll never be able to…”; when I started to practice yoga, everyday I saw my body do things it wasn’t able to the day before and now the more I achieve, the more I push myself to do. I have a much better relationship with my body now, I respect and treasure it, and this in turn has changed the way I think about food. I don’t think about loving foods because they look or taste good (although I never eat anything I think tastes bad either), I love foods that fuel my body to do the wonderful things that it does everyday.

So start with this today, look in the mirror and say: I love my body because…