August Favourites

Happy bank-holiday Monday everyone! I can’t believe it’s the last day in August already, where did the Summer go? Time to dust of the plaid shirts and chunky knits as Autumn (or Fall depending on what part of the world you are in) is here! After browsing the pre-fall and AW15 collections in Vogue’s August and September issues I have to say I am looking forward to updating my wardrobe, getting back into coats and layering up. Also, fall and winter theme hot drinks will be hitting the shelves soon, Pumpkin Spice Latte or Hot Chocolate anyone? However, before the first of September hits here are some of the thins I have been loving through August…

IMG_6207

IMG_6213

favourites

Porter Magazine: A new found favourite read, porter comes from net-a-porter and is beautifully laid out and a great read. This is only my second issue, and while I still have a love affair with every issue of Vogue I own, I find Porter was packed with interesting article that I wanted to read, rather than just taking inspiration from the photographs.

Deliciously Ella: I originally bought this for my sister when I was travelling home last week, but after flipping through it on the plane and over the few days I was at home, I just had to get myself a copy. This book is beautifully put together and full of great recipes that are all vegan and gluten free. It has a great mix of fully raw recipes as well as super healthy baked vegan goodies. I noticed that the price on this book varies depending on where you buy it but the best price I have seen it for is £9 in Tesco.

 Lily-Flame Candles: “Britain’s Best Loved Scented Candles”. Lily-Flame have the most unusual collection of scented candles, I first fell in love with the brand when I smelled Blush, which smells like my Mum’s favourite perfume so when I burn it at home the whole house smells like her! These candles have a very powerful scent, but the good thing about that is it last right until the candle burns out. My current favourites are Wild Jasmine and Exquisite. If you want to take a sniff before you buy, Lily-Flame is available at John Lewis.

Lokai Bracelet: I have wanted one of these for a really long time, I love the idea of the balance found from the black bead (mud from the dead sea) and the white bead (ice from Mount Everest), reminding you that even when you’re at your lowest you can come back and when you are at your highest to remain humble. I got my for less than £10 on ebay!

Earrings: I have been loving these earrings from Forever21 (similar here). I love that the little flowers on the bottom hang from the back under the lobe of your ear, and if you want you can remove the hanging part and just use them as studs.

Lavender and Echinacea Tea: Echinacea is good for building up immunity heading into cold and flu season; if you are feeling a bit under the weather drink some echinacea tea before bed to fight off illness before it sets in. My favourite is the fruity lavender and echinacea blend, it’s delicious!

So, enjoy your last day of Summer (even if it’s raining) and I will see you in September! x