New Workspace + Homemade Soy Candles

For the past nine months I have been working on my blog from the comfort of my couch and dinning room table, there’s nothing wrong with that apart from the issues of vogue that have been piling up around my living room. However, I decided it was time I cleared some space for the things that have become so important in my life and get a new desk…IMG_6286

Desk £118 from Amazon.

IMG_6283

Homemade Scented Soy Candles; clockwise from the top left: Clementine and Cinnamon, Lavender and Sandalwood, Lavender, Vanilla Coffee Bean.

IMG_6290

This is my third or forth attempt at making scented soy candles and I was really pleased with the result this time, as I have been with previous candles. For a change I included some dried scents as well as essential oils in the candles this time, including dried lavender, ground cinnamon and ground espresso coffee. I love the warm scents that the dry ingredients create as the candles burn. One of my favourites was the vanilla coffee bean candles which was made by mixing a teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/2 a tbsp of ground coffee into the melted soy wax; it makes my whole living room smell like a coffee house and is so warm and comforting. For more tips on candles making read my previous DIY posts here and here.

IMG_6307

Journal: WHSmiths | Large Jar: TKMaxx | Lantern Lights (in jar): Tiger | Mug: Starbucks | Lamp: Argos | Cushion: Photobox.co.uk | Calendar: Tesco