Vegan Banana & Walnut Bread.

IMG_8777

Throughout January my go-to breakfast and lunch snack has been my vegan muffins, and this delicious twist on banana bread; I don’t have a lot of time in the mornings or afternoons to eat big meals so I like to eat something that is fast but that I know is full of goodness. Bananas are one of the best food for slow releasing energy, that’s why I use them as a base for most of my baking (and in the Summer, my smoothies); this loaf has the added bonus of being packed with fibre so it will help keep your digestion healthy through the end of this Winter, insuring you Spring into Spring!

IMG_8778ingredients

  • 1 cup plain four
  • 1/2 cup wholemeal/brown flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 5 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

method

  1. Add the flour, oats, bread soda, chia seeds and chopped walnuts to a large bowl and mix together with a wooden spoon.
  2. Use a high powered blender to blend the bananas and agave nectar into a liquid. Add this to the dry ingredients and mix well.
  3. Slightly grease two loaf tins with coconut oil and share the mixture between the two.
  4. Bake in a preheated oven at 180’C for 30 mins, or until an inserted skewer comes out dry. Allow to cool slightly in the tins and then turn out onto a wire-rack to completely cool.

IMG_8782This bread taste great as it is or with a spoon of peanut butter spread on top!