Curating My Personal Style; A Moodboard for Inspiration.

Reading Garanace Doré’s Love x Style x Life has completely made me rethink how I approach fashion and style (read more here) and made me question and begin to explore what is my own personal style. Today marks the beginning of what I’m sure will be yet another amazing London Fashion Week and while I can’t wait to see what everyone will be wearing, setting the scene for SS16, and what the designers have in-store for AW16, I will be spending the time de-cluttering and cleansing my current closet.

I have spent the last week trawling through Pinterest and blogs dedicated to minimalism and capsule closets, partially because I have been thrown down with the flu and couldn’t leave the house, but mostly because I wanted to gather some inspiration and information about the philosophy of minimalistic style.

The more I think about it, the more I accept that it’s the same pieces and colours that I reach for when getting dressed again and again, and when I shop I tend to chose similar things to what I already own, or else something that I never ending wearing. My wardrobe is bursting at the seams with clothes and in reality I probably only wear about 40% of the clothes I own from one end of the year to the other. Having said that I can honestly say that I have hugely reduced the amount of clothes I own compared to when I first moved to London; the huge closet I now share with my boyfriend was built for me by my Dad when I moved here, and once was completely full, without breathing room, with just my clothes. My overall goal is to get a new, smaller closet, but in order to do that I must first reduce the content.

The first step to thinking about a capsule closet is to decide on a colour palette; for me the main colours I go for are black and white, and the accenting colours tend to be navy, blue (denim), grey, taupe or beige, and red. If I had to pick the staple items of my closet I would say, jeans, black leggings, a stripy t-shirt and my white Converse. The items that I would like to add to my closet would be a good blazer, a tulle midi skirt and some organic cotton t-shirts because you can never have too many of those.

All images from Pinterest; follow me here.