My Style Staples: Thoughts on a capsule closet.

IMG_8934

On Friday, while still nursing the tail end of a flu, I undertook the mammoth task of cleansing my closet. This was more than a regular Spring clean, and something I have been planning to do for a while, it required brutal honesty and several black bags which are now stored where my boyfriend and I store everything we feel is too good to throw in the bin or no longer has a place, under the bed. Like I said in my post on Friday, I have been looking into the idea of a capsule wardrobe and minimalist style as I noticed that over the last 12 months, I have been continuously reaching for the same or similar pieces from closet again and again.ย I was inspired by a post Estรฉe Lalonde did back before Christmas to share my style staples with you along with a few tips on honest closet purging.

UP TOP

I like to keep it simple, a striped t-shirt, a white knit. I think at this time of year, layers are essential, I tend to layer a knit on top of a cotton vest; layers trap heat, so wearing two thin layers is actually more efficient to keep you warm than one thicker layer. However, I look forward to the summer, when I can swap out my knits for cotton t-shirts and string tops.

IMG_8949

DOWN BELOW

Black leggings or jeans are like uniform for me; I like to be comfortable in what I wear, I can never understand people who buy pants with tight fitting waistbands, how uncomfortable it seems to me. As for shoes, if I could wear converse or trainers everyday, I would, unfortunately social convention means that trainers are not always suitable, so, in reality I spend most of my days in ballet flats or ankle boots.

THE LITTLE EXTRAS

I love adding a little bit of sparkle to an otherwise plain outfit; over the years the colour palette of my closet may muted but my inner magpie has not lost her love for something shiny. I shared my favourite pieces at the beginning of the year, you can read that here. The perfect finishing touch to any outfit is a red or nude lip, a spritz of Chanel and a wide brimmed hat.

IMG_8951

AN HONEST CLEANSE

It’s taken a long time for me to finally clear my wardrobe out to the extent that I did last week and so I’ve learned a few hard truths along the way that I’d like to share with you.

1. If you haven’t worn it in six month, you won’t wear it again.

2. There are only so many things that you can keep to one side for a “special occasion”, pick one and keep that.

3. Don’t hold onto shoes you know you can’t walk in, even if they look pretty.

4. If it looks worn on the hanger, it’ll look worn on you, there is no excuse for bobbles.

5. Make a note of the brands that wash well, and the ones that don’t; I love Primark as much as the next girl for value, but I know that once I put something in the washing machine it’s going to go out of shape. It’s better to invest in something that will look good wash after wash, even if it’s a white t-shirt.

6. Know what you own so that you don’t double up unnecessarily, less is more.

7. Choose colour carefully; know your palette, what colours match your skin tone and what colours will go with what you already own. Don’t buy something in a colour you already know either doesn’t suit you, or doesn’t go with anything you have.

8. Take care of your clothes; read the care labels before you wash, iron anything that needs it, take care hanging and folding to prevent your clothes from falling out of shape.

IMG_8954