Escapism

 

escapism

/ɪˈskeɪpɪz(ə)m,ɛ-/
noun

the tendency to seek distraction and relief from unpleasant realities, especially by seeking entertainment or engaging in fantasy.

Summer is still a distant dream to those of us in the colder parts of Europe, especially here in dull, grey London where the constant cloud cover can become a bit suffocating from time to time. As much as I love London, sometimes I need to escape from it in order to remind myself how much I really enjoy living here; there’s nothing like secluded tranquillity for an extended period of time to make you appreciate the rush of daily life in the big city.

Since I won’t be escaping the big city any time in the near future, unless I win tonight’s Euromillions, I’ve been escaping to my pinterest board, travel magazines and instagram and surrounding myself with images of the wild and wonderful world beyond the parameters of my daily routine. There are so many beautiful places in the world that I have on my travel list; sandy beaches I want to walk, ancient culture I want to soak up.

wanderlust

/ˈwɒndəlʌst/
noun
 a strong desire to travel.