My Current Skincare Routine

IMG_9267

Skincare is something very personal to each individual, and therefore shouldn’t be based solely upon current beauty trends or products that are popular because they are advertised a lot. If you spend time doing one thing, let it be actually taking time to research not just what products are suitable and beneficial to your skin, but what ingredients are. Skincare shouldn’t be about what everyone else is using, but actually considering of what benefit a product will be to you and your skin, and that’s about more than reading what skin type a product is suitable for. When it comes to selecting my skincare products I try to think about it like this: what is the product? when should I use it? and why should I use it? Below I have outlined some of the products I am currently using as part of my skincare routine, as well as explaining why I chose them and some information about ingredients to look out for.

IMG_9275

Day Cream

  • What? Olay Essentials Complete Care Day Cream for Sensitive Skin.
  • When? In the morning, after I cleanse and tone, and before I apply my make-up.
  • Why? As a teenager I had very oily and hormonal skin, as a result I used creams that boasted being matifying, balancing and blemish fighting. I never stuck with one cream, I was always trying new ones because nothing ever seemed to balance my oily skin. When I met Giovanni (he sells skincare by the way, and that’s how we met) he was surprised how agitated my skin still was even though I was in my early 20’s. He suggested that I had sensitive combination skin, not oily, and the products I had been using up to that point were destroying the PH balance of my skin and just making it oilier. Since then I have been opting for creams that are either organic or have simple ingredients. However there is another factor to consider when choosing a day cream when you are over 20, and that is anti-ageing ingredients. There is no cure for ageing, it can’t be prevented, it is a natural process that we all must go through; having said there are ingredients that can slow the process and keep the skin healthy as it ages so the effects are not so severe. I chose the Olay Essentials Complete Day Cream because for a cream of it’s price range it had pretty much every ingredient I should be giving my skin at this point in my life with the main one being SPF and UV protection. Sun exposure is one of the damaging things for your skin, that’s why it’s really important to wear and SPF everyday even if you live somewhere that isn’t particularly sunny; you don’t need a high SPF unless medically advise, anything between 15 and 30 is enough, after that there is minimal difference in the effect an SPF has. The day cream also contains vitamin B5, B3 and vitamin E; vitamins B3 and B5 have a soothing effect on the skin, helping with water retention and combating against toxins that might deplete the fatty acids in the skin which are responsible for the production of collagen, while vitamin E is an antioxidant that can slow down and even repair damage to the skin.

IMG_9271

“If I could offer you only one tip for the future, sunscreen would be it. The long-term benefits of sunscreen have been proved by scientists whereas the rest of my advice has no basis more reliable than my own meandering experience.”-Mary Schmich

IMG_9277

Night Cream

  • What? GRATiAE Renewing Moisturising Cream
  • When? Just before bed, after removing my make-up and cleansing.
  • Why? GRATiAE boasts the use of organically sourced ingredients which have been specifically chosen for their natural benefits to the skin. The renewing moisture cream has ingredients such as oat extract, jojoba oil, and almond oil which are naturally soothing and moisturising. After wearing make-up all day, I enjoy the soothing effect of this cream, my skin feel renewed when I wake up; also, because of the dry weather we are enduring in London my skin has been extremely dry recently and so apply moisturising ingredients before bed helps promote the skins natural restoration of moisture. This cream also contains witch hazel extract, which is a natural astringent and antiseptic, therefore helping to prevent breakouts.

IMG_9278

IMG_9288

Mask Treatment

  • What? GRATiAE Lifting Facial Mask.
  • When? One to two times a week, when my skin is feeling dry, drained and dehydrated. I apply this after taking off my make-up, before I shower.
  • Why? This mask is deeply moisturising, it is not one of those masks that dries and tightens on your face, instead it sits on the skin restoring moisture. Like the renewing face cream, this mask contains jojoba oil and almond oil to sooth the skin, as well as evening primrose oil which is high in essential fatty acids that your skin needs to produce collagen and also has properties to help decrease sun damage to the skin. This mask also contains the wonderful vitamins A and E which help reduce signs of ageing. When I apply this mask I leave it on for about five minutes, then remove it with my dampened magic mitt; after my skin feel replenished and deeply moisturised, any irritations or dry patches feel soothed. The mask also contains aloe vera, which is famous for it’s soothing and healing properties, so although this is a lifting mask, I am much more interested in its gentle soothing and moisturising properties to relieve winter induced dryness.

IMG_9287

IMG_9290

Make Up Remover

  • What? Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water
  • When? Before bed, to remove make-up.
  • Why? There are a lot of different brands of micellar waters on the market now, and they are a buzz word product in the beauty world at the moment. It’s important to understand that micellar waters are really just purified water which were originally designed for cleansing skin when flowing water is not available. However the combination of some of the chemicals found in micellar water work together to cling to impurities on the skin when cleansing, making them ideal for removing make-up. I chose Garnier because, out of all the drugstore micellar waters it had the least ingredients; it didn’t make sense to me to buy water to clean my face with that was full of chemicals. Garnier’s micellar water is also fragrance free; it is gentle on the skin but tough on dirt, making removing make-up much easier. However, micellar water alone is not a sufficient cleanser, so I always insure to wash my face after and cleanse and tone my skin properly.

IMG_9295

IMG_9299

Cleanser

  • What? Mica Beauty Milk Cleanser.
  • When? In the morning to prep my skin before applying make-up and at night after I have removed my make-up and washed my face.
  • Why? This milk cleanser is gentle on the skin and so perfect for sensitive skin types. It contains plant extracts such as jojoba seed oil, sunflower seed oil, chamomile, and ginseng root; jojoba and sunflower seed oils lift dirt without removing moisture from the skin, while chamomile and ginseng are soothing aswell as pocessing healing properties. This cleanser also contains extracts of honey and cucumber, both ‘superfood’ ingridents. Cucumber is packed with vitamins and minerals that are kind to your skin such as vitamin A, B6, C; honey has active anit-bacterial properties so is a great natraul cleansing angent. The fact that this cleanser is so high in plant extracts means that it dones’t irritate or aggitate my skin, the soothing ingreidents reduce redness and puffiness almost intantly and is the perfect product to throughouly cleanse my skin and prepare it for make-up application.

Toner

  • What? Mica Beauty Refreshing Toner
  • When? After cleansing my face with the cleansing milk, before applying my moisturising cream.
  • Why? Like the cleansing milk this toner is pack with plant extracts such as ginseng, aloe, chamomile, burdock roots, and rose petals. The rose gives this toner a natural, refreshing fragrance as well as have a soothing and cooling effect on the skin and the pores. The combination of the soothing ingredients of aloe, chamomile and rose water, reduce puffiness and redness in the skin. I find this toner a godsend in the mornings when my skin is a bit more dehydrated and puffy, it feels amazing as I rub it over my face and the difference is noticeable.

IMG_9300

References:

  • J. Gabriel; The Green Beauty Guide, chap. 5, pg. 109, 116, 118, 129; chap. 9, pg. 202-205.
  • C. Hirons; carolinehirons.com, Cheat Sheet- Anti Ageing.