Lemon Drizzle Cake Recipe (Vegan & Gluten-Free)

IMG_9477

Prepare to amaze your taste buds, and the taste buds of whoever you chose to share this lemon drizzle cake with, if you do chose to share. I think that this is the tastiest vegan dessert that I have made yet, I am actually still in disbelief of how delicious it is, how delectable the texture is, and how well balanced the sweet and tangy flavours are considering there is no butter, no eggs, and no refined sugar in the cake mix! I was sceptical about how this would turn out when I started putting it together, considering how few ingredients there are and how simple the process is.

Last month Sweet Freedom got in touch with me through social media and sent me out some of their freefrom syrups to experiment with; I used their Choc Shot to make double chocolate cookies that were so good I had to send some home to Ireland to my sister (read her blog here). I have also been playing around with their Fruit Syrup, an alternative to agave nectar, which in my opinion is much sweeter, easier to work with, lasts longer and is an all round amazing product; I have used it in porridge, which I don’t normally eat, but Sweet Freedom Fruit Syrup made it taste like Ready Break, without all the refined sugars! I have also been using it to sweeten tea, my favourite combination being 1tsp Fruit Syrup with Chai tea, and to drizzle into smoothies and over pancakes on Pancake Tuesday.

So, after all the indulgences of Easter I wanted to create a dessert that would satisfy my sweet tooth and my craving for cake, without being too unkind on the waist. This lemon drizzle cake is vegan, gluten-free and thanks to Sweet Freedom Fruit Syrup, refined sugar free. If you do want to be a bit indulgent and make this cake extra special you can add a tart lemon drizzle to the top, however, if you want to keep it refined sugar free a drizzle of Fruit Syrup over the top tastes just as good without the guilt.

IMG_9510

IMG_9485

ingredients

  • 250g gluten free plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 4-5 tbsp Sweet Freedom Fruit Syrup
  • 100 ml vegetable oil (I used extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil would also taste amazing!)
  • 150ml water

For the glaze (optional)

  • 150g icing sugar
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon

IMG_9498

IMG_9478

method

  1. Sieve the flour and baking powder into a large bowl, add the lemon zest and mix together.
  2. Squeeze the juice of one lemon into a glass, add the water. Make a well in the flour mixture and pour in the lemon and water. Use an electric beater on low to combine the ingredients.
  3. Next add the vegetable oil and Fruit Syrup; once again use an electric beater to whisk the mixture until the oil is fully combined and the mixture is light and frothy.
  4. Pour the cake batter into a bread tin, and bake in the oven at 200’C for 30-35 minutes, until golden brown and an inserted skewer comes out dry. Allow the cake to cool on a wire tray.
  5. To make the lemon glaze grate the zest of one lemon into a bowl, add in 150g of icing sugar. Add the juice from the lemon and use a beater on a very low setting to combine the ingredients into a smooth, runny, zesty mixture. Use a table spoon to pour over the cooled cake and allow to set in the fridge for 30 minutes. Or, alternatively drizzle Fruit Syrup over the cake, slice and serve.

IMG_9505

IMG_9495