Internal Obsession

visualisationquote

A few years ago I read an article in a magazine about vision boarding; in the article there was a story about one man in particular who had created a vision board in his twenties with clippings of things he wanted to own, places he wanted to go and things he wanted to achieve in his life. The story goes that he had this vision board for years, eventually from moving around it ended up being boxed away. One day, while preparing to move house again with his family, he was sorting through all his boxes of old things in his office, his young son was helping him, looking at old pictures are photo albums. His son found something in one of the boxes that caught his interest, ‘look daddy’ he said, ‘it’s our house!’; the man took what was his old vision board from his son only to realise that the house he and cut from a magazine years ago, was indeed the exact house he had just purchased for him and his family.

That story always stuck with me, it was probably the first concept of the law of attraction that I ever came across, and even though I didn’t really start believing and practising the law of attraction for quite some time after that, I have always been obsessed with vision boards since. When I was a teenager I would use Windows Paint (because I didn’t know photoshop was a thing yet) to create collages from images online of things I wanted to achieve in my life, and stick them inside my wardrobe door so I would see them every morning when I got up, and right before I went to sleep. Thankfully for me, Pinterest came along, so now I can create and carry my vision boards with me where ever I go.

I have always loved the concept of interior design, and got a thrill from paint samples and wallpaper swatches ever since my parents built our home, which meant countless trips to tile shops, paint shops, furniture stores, you name it. I remember my mother had a folder that she would carry with her, filled with drawings, cut outs and swatches (I also remember how many builders and handymen told her that her ideas were not possible, to which she would never pay any heed); I too built up a little ring-binder full of swatches I collected on our travels, cuttings from magazines my mother was finished with or catalogues I picked up in various home stores, and so began my mini obsession with interiors.

With the rise of Scandi* design recently, I find it really hard to pass the magazine stand and not walk away with a house and home magazine, which I will then lust over and handle with care for a few days before attacking it with a scissors and adding it to my moodboard scrapbook.

If I’m not drooling over the most recent copy of Elle Decoration (I am currently carrying around Elle Decoration Country 7 like it is a sacred text), I’m scrolling and pinning interior design ideas on Pinterest until my eyes are dead in my head from staring at my phone for so long. The funny part is that I don’t own a home, nor am in the market and my current monthly budget doesn’t stretch to a complete re-vamp of the mismatched interior of my flat… yet!

I have always been a dreamer with a wild imagination, and just because the kind of home I visualise myself having is out of reach now, doesn’t mean it will always be. That’s why I enjoy looking at paint swatches, and obsessing over coffee tables, because in my mind it’s never too early to start planning. If you don’t know exactly what you want then you’re always going to live with mismatched furniture and odd coloured towels that your mother gave you when you moved out. When I’m really stressed and anxious, the one thing that really calms me down is closing my eyes and taking a mental walk around my house, the house that I don’t own yet that is, but have already started decorating; I visualise the rooms, the different floors, the garden. Some of the rooms are still empty, others I have started to add pieces to that I have seen in numerous hours of scrolling through Pinterest or Elle Decoration, sometimes I spend time in a room decorating it, moving things around or swapping something out for something new; by the time I leave my house I feel calm and focused again, ready to take life by the horns so that one day I can physically walk through that house.

*Scandinavian design (or Scandi for short) is a term to represent a design movement characterized by simplicity, minimalism and functionality that emerged in the 1950s in the five Nordic countries of Finland, Norway, Sweden, Iceland and Denmark.