Get Sun-Ready with Clinique

IMG_0354

IMG_0357

IMG_0364

This weekend London was hit with a glorious heatwave; with temperatures as high as 27’C people (finally) shed their coats and jackets and swapped their boots for flip-flops. People hit the streets and parks in shorts and string tops and soaked up the vitamin D at barbecues and picnics even after the sun had gone done. I love living in London, even more so when the sunshines; as soon as those grey clouds disperse and the blue sky reveals itself, you feel like you have space as you emerge from the underground among the tall buildings. The kids put on their Summer uniforms (where I grew up a summer uniform was when you could leave your tights at home that day), and everyone seems generally happier and able to cope with busy city life.

IMG_0369a

IMG_0369b

IMG_0369

However when the sun comes out and we show more skin, we have to think about protecting that skin too; in my recent skincare post I wrote about anti-ageing ingredients, but in reality SPF is the only ingredient that can prevent premature signs of ageing. Being fair haired and fair skinned, choosing a good sun cream is really important to me, so when Cliqiue sent me their special Travel Sun-Ready set* to try out I was delighted. Their SPF is thick and creamy, but soaks into the skin quickly and doesn’t leave any oily residue; I was even able to apply some tan straight on top without any streaking or running. The Broad Spectrum SPF 30 body and face creams as well as the After-Sun Rescue with aloe vera are all 100% Fragrance Free, so there is no over powering chemical smell hanging around for the day.

These beach ready sun products are some of the most comfortable suncreams I have worn yet, I didn’t feel like I was carrying a thick layer of sun block around on my skin all day, instead I felt moisturised, and comfortable to enjoy the heat, at least while it last! The After-Sun Rescue Balm, left my skin feeling soft and hydrated which is the best way to encourage a tan to develop, extra bonus being that I didn’t wake up to any smell of product on my sheets. The handy travel sized bottles make them ideal for travel if you have to fit your creams in your carry-on, but also perfect to throw in your handbag for a day out and about; no more lugging around big heavy greasy bottles of cream in your bag on hot weekends, which means more room for bottles of water! To top it all off the sunshine yellow packing and cosmetic bag are super summery and made me smile every time I got them out.

IMG_0373

IMG_0371

*The products featured in this post were sponsered by Clinique Travel Retail and Estée Lauder travel retail. The Sun Ready Travel Set is available at all Clinique Travel retail counters worldwide. All opinions expressed in this post are my own.