Fitness Motivation

Summer is just around the corner and I am very excited! I’m looking forward to warmer days, travel (hopefully somewhere with a beach) and the smell of suncream. I also have a family wedding coming up this Summer, which I am really looking forward to as it will be my first time standing as a bridesmaid. I’ve already been fitted for my dress and have been keeping on top of my fitness since November, however this month for some reason I have hit a motivational slump. I could come up with a hundred excuses as to why I have been avoid the gym and instead taking a detor to Tesco to stock up on Mini Rolls and chocolate biscuits, but really the only person I have to blame for the mini rolls in my leggings, is myself. This week I turned to my favourite place for body motivation: Pinterest, and pinned some body goals… #abs!

Other ways I try to keep myself motivated when I hit a slump is setting a body goal image as the wallpaper on my phone, so every time I pick it up, even just to check the time, I’m met with a six pack which whispers to my subconscious “put down the biscuits and walk away from the cake!”

There are also some great apps that you can use to track your calorie consumption against how many calories you burn; I really like MyFitnessPal as it allows you to scan the barcodes of food you eat and will then add it to your daily consumption so you don’t have to spend endless amounts of time putting in calories and saturated fats data. Another excellent app to track your nutritional consumption is CRON-O-Meter; it shows you how balanced or unbalanced your diet is right down to RDA of vitamins and minerals and is great to help you pin point where your diet might be lacking, for example if you’re tired are you consuming enough iron?

Its imporatant to realise that no one is perfect and even the best of us, no matter how focused, have bad days. Personal life can get in the way, work can eat up too much of your free time and you can feel defeated; that’s how I’ve felt during May, almost ashamed to return to my gym after being absent and falling off the fitness wagon, however I know if I want to reach my goals I have to keep pushing myself because if I stop I may never start again.

” How do you want to feel this Summer, proud or jealous?”