Summer Colour Palette

IMG_0852

Summer is officially here and that means a whole new palette of colours to create make-up looks with; just like last season I have swapped out and updated my make up collection, narrowing it down to a selection of colours that can be mixed and matched the create multiple summery looks.

Spring was about soft pastels and muted tones (see my Spring swatches here), but Summer is all about bold bright lips, golden cheeks and eyes and a pop of colour dotted about. I have carefully selected the products for this post to include some of my current favourite brands and a new Summer palette by Clinique* that I am really excited to share with you. As before, the colours I have chosen have obviously been picked to suit my skin tone and colouring but I will share some tips to help you chose similar shades depending on your colouring.

IMG_0855

Lips

IMG_0861

Summer lips is all about the bright and bold statement colours for me; from peaches and bright oranges to neon pinks and pinky-reds the lips are the centre piece of my Summer looks. Bright colours are not for the faint hearted and can be difficult to pull of if you don’t chose a colour that suits your skintone; when I’m selecting bright mips colours I make sure to swatch them, let them dry and see how the skin around the lip colour looks in  comparison, if it looks washed out then that’s not the bright for you. Swatching brights can take time but whne you find the right one it’s worth it.

Nails

IMG_0866

As far as drugstore nail products go, Essie is still for me the best of the best and their Summer colours are no exception. I like to go for something neutral on the toes so that it looks good with every shoe colour, my favourite is Sand Tropez. As for the fingernails I either like to compliment my lip colour with a berry pink, or contrast it with shades of blue good enough for the Mediterranean waters.

Eyes

IMG_0874

With a look centred around a statement lip, it’s important to balance it out with neutral eyes; however, it is Summer and while bare eyes are bright lips can have their moments in the day, after the sun sets a swipe of a simmering gold eye shadow will make every eye colour pop and compliment your tan. Soft velvety shadows are the best for the summer, you can pop them in your bag and apply them with a finger tip; alternatively you could opt for a shadow stick which just as easy to apply and can double up as an eye liner. If your feeling a bit adventurous and want to channel your inner Cleopatra a turquoise liner on the lower or upper lash looks amazing with a tan.

Face

IMG_0881

One of the many reason I love Summer is that face make-up because easier and lower maintenance; some bronzer and a good highlighter and you’re good to go, day or night. I have raved about No7’s shimmer palettes many times, and this time is no different, these highlighting palettes, available in Rose Shimmer or Caramel Shimmer, are a beautiful blend and balance of colour and shimmer that will make you truly glow.

A new palette that I have been loving and is perfect for the summer is this Clinique Kissed by the Sun Bronzing Palette; it is so compact, the perfect size for you bag and has everything you need to create the perfect Summer look: a beautiful golden bronzer, to stunning golden shadows and complimenting nude lips colours, perfect after a day at the beach.

IMG_0891

Products Featured:

Lips: Revlon Matte Lipstick in Smokey Peach | Colour Pop Ultra Matte Lips in Pacific | Revlon Matte Balm in Unapologetic | Revlon Ultra HD Matte lips in Obsession | Tarte Butter Lipstick in Poppy | NYX Soft Matte Lipcream in Antwerp

Nails: Essie Nail Enamels in Sand Tropez, Mint Candy Apple, Peach Daiquiri and Saltwater.

Eyes: Tarte Smokey eye shadow stick in Rose Gold (similar) | No7 Stay Precise liquid liner in Mermaid | L’Oréal Eyeshadow mono in Gold Mania | Clinique Kissed by the Sun Bronzing Palette.

Face: No7 Shimmer Palette in Caramel | Clinique Kissed by the Sun Bronzing Palette

IMG_0889

*c/o Estée Lauder Travel Retail and Clinique Travel Retail; available and travel retail destinations worldwide.