Stay at Home Spa | Part I: The Perfect Bath

IMG_2762

It’s midweek, and mid-month which means that we’re nearly at the weekend, and we’re nearly at payday, but we’re not quite there just yet. However, that doesn’t mean you can’t reward yourself for all the hard work you done so far; time for a little pampering session.

One of my favourite ways to unwind after a stressful busy day/week, or to calm myself when I feel my anxieties getting the better of me, is a hot bath.  With the growing obsession with bath bombs and luxury bath products, thanks to the ever popular Lush Cosmetics, having a bath has become very grown up. Now, while I love myself a good Lush bath bomb haul and how good my bathroom smell for weeks on end after, a bath can be about more than bubbles, colours and fizz.

If you want to get more from your bathtime, and use it as a way to not only cleanse, but detox your body, then Epsom Salts are amazing! While they don’t fizz and pop in the water, these salts are loved by athletes all over the world for their ability to increase muscle recovery time after training. I have been using Westlabs Epsom Salts in my bath after days at the gym or running, when I feel my muscles are starting to ache; I have definitely noticed a reduction in muscle pain and stiffness the following morning after using the salts, which then allows me to push harder at my next gym session.

Epsom Salts are colourless and fragrance free, so to help me relax I have been also adding Dr. Bronner’s All-in-one Pure Castile Soaps to my bath; while these soaps don’t create a bubble bath, they are completely natural and scented with essential oils, so the fragrance they release in hot water provides an amazing aromatherapy style experience. These soaps are not just for the bath either, they have a list the length of my arm of possible uses, and who doesn’t love a good natural multipurpose product? You can use Dr. Bronner’s soaps as shampoo, shower gel, washing up liquid, floor cleaner, washing detergent, and they are so natural and pure that they are suitable even for babies and pets!

Westlabs Epsom Salts are available from Amazon for £3.99/€4.95 for 1kg

Dr. Bronner’s 18-in-one Pure Castile Soap is also available from Amazon for aprox. £18/€20 for 946ml

IMG_2769

IMG_2767

IMG_2768