My Style Staples: Transitioning your closet for AW16

IMG_3070

Back in February I took the plunge and decluttered my wardrobe to create a ‘capsule’ closet; I came to the realisation that I wasn’t wearing a lot of the clothes in my wardrobe, and so there was no point in them taking up space. If you want to learn more about creating a capsule closet here is some inspiration and my experience, or check out Un-Fancy blog for some great tips and free printable plans to help you cut down your own closet to the essentials.

The whole philosophy around a capsule closet is only having clothes in your wardrobe that you wear regularly; items that go well together in order to mix and match, that reflect a personal style, and that get worn to the point that they can’t be worn again. For that reason a lot of the clothes that I had in my closet for AW15 (even though I did my clear out in Spring, I would still have been wearing AW clothes) did not make it for another season, and so for the past month I have been carefully selecting pieces to add to my closet to transition it from Summer to Autumn/Fall.

There are a few things to keep in mind when transitioning into a new season: What are the current trends? How can I incorporate them into my own personal style? What pieces can be re-purposed for the new season? What pieces need to go? 

With these questions in mind, I have put together a few tips to help you take your wardrobe into the new season.

IMG_2983

Layer Up

There is an urge the minute AW stock arrives in the shops to buy the newest, chunkiest knits available; however, if you select knits that are light enough for layering they will see you through from one end of the season to the other. Choose jumpers and cardigans that are light enough to be worn on their own at this end of the season, and loose fitting enough to be layered over t-shirts, shirts or each other during the colder months.

It is also important, when shopping for knits to consider your colour palette; my closet currently consists of monotone and neutral colours, and so when selecting new jumpers and cardigans to add in I chose pieces that would work well with what I already owned and that reflected my current style.

IMG_3004

Denim Transcends All Seasons

When it comes to denim, you can’t go wrong; trends about cuts and fits will change, but what’s important is finding pieces that work with your body shape, are comfortable and can be worn and re-styled season after season. For this reason, when shopping for denim don’t be afraid to spend a little bit more and invest in jeans that are high quality and will last.

Update your denim: This AW16 applique and embroidered denim is showing up in a lot of the designer collections and on the highstreet; instead of feeling you need to splash out in order to jump on this trend, you can easily update your denim with iron on patches which are cheap and readily available from Amazon and Ebay.

IMG_3007

What’s Trending?

This past month I have studied my September issues of Vogue and Porter, as well as endlessly scrolling through other blogs trend spotting. AW16 is a season of sophistication and surprises for fashion; think romanticism meets the 70s, clean cuts, neutral pastels and bold block colours.

Winter florals: don’t pack away your your floral prints just yet, as florals were a big feature of a lot of designer collections for AW16. From bold prints to applique embellishments, flowers are in bloom this season. Summer tea dresses can be layered over tights, thigh-high boots and under knits to re-style them for the new season.

That 70’s vibe: 70’s style featured in a lot of SS16 collections, and it was once again a key influence for a lot of the AW16 shows.  Think subdued colours, dark flared denims, wide brimmed hats and embracing your inner hippie.

IMG_3077

Embelishments

This season is going to be all about the embellishments, expect to see plenty of statement necklaces, earrings, rings and big broaches; forget less is more, for AW16 more is definitely more! Rethink the way you style your jewellery; layer up statement necklaces over gold chokers, don’t be afraid of adding big sparkly earrings and wear your broaches in your hair as well as on your clothes.

This is one trend that I am very excited about this season, because who doesn’t love a bit of sparkle around Christmas and the New Year? If you need some inspiration on how to wear this trend then have a look at D&G’s FW16 collection, or check out my AW16 Pinterest board which I will be updating as the season progresses!

IMG_3038

Declutter

A new season is the perfect excuse to clean out your closet; if you’re not ready to reduce your closet completely down to the minimal essentials, then take this as a opportunity to begin to transition not only your style, but your approach to clothes and shopping. When cleaning out my closet I ask myself the following questions about pieces I am unsure of:

Have you worn it in the past 6 months?

Will you wear it in the next 6 months?

Does it fit comfortably?

Does it make you feel good about yourself when you wear it?

Do you know someone that would enjoy wearing it more than you?

When I am really undecided about if a piece of clothing should stay or go from my closet, I hang it separate to my other clothes and if I haven’t worn it by the next time I’m decluttering, it goes! You should only buy and keep clothes that give you confidence and make you feel happy every time you wear them, if it doesn’t spark joy get rid of it and fill it’s space with something that does!

What are your favourite AW16 trends? Join the conversation in the comment box below…