Autumn Colour Palette

img_3766

Autumn is probably my favourite of the seasons, granted the weather isn’t the most anticipating to head out into in the early morning, but nature is so abundant and beautiful at this time of year; the leaves change and scatter themselves everywhere, the animals are busy collecting and getting ready for hibernation and even though there’s a chill in the air, inside starts to feel extra cosy.

Autumn is also one of my favourite times of year for changing up my make-up collection; a few weeks ago I packed away my Spring/Summer colours and took back out some of my favourites from last Autumn, as well as adding a few new products and colours to my collection…

img_3785

img_3776

BASE & EYES

img_3741

Let’s start with the base: for this time of year you want a foundation that’s going to be able to handle whatever the weather throws at you, is kind to your skin and has an SPF. Estée Lauder’s Double Wear foundation is a cult classic and loved by beauty bloggers and experts alike for a good reason; it does exactly what it says on the bottle! This foundation provides all day coverage that won’t budge but won’t dry out your skin either, it has an SPF 10 and is available in a wide range of colours to suit all skin tones. It’s a bit on the pricey side for a foundation, and you will have to buy a pump separately but it is worth the investment in my opinion.

Now for eyes; when it comes to eye colours in the fall warm metallics mixed with matte burned oranges and browns will mirror the gorgeous colours of the outdoors. I added Maybelline’s Colour Tattoo shadows to my collection this fall because their mattes are matte, their metallics are metallic, they are easy to apply in a hurry, stay in place all day and don’t crease like most cream shadows.

I’ve dusted off my Tarte in Bloom palette and where I looked to the soft pastles and golds in the Spring, for Autumn I’ll be dipping into the gorgeous bronze, copper and matte browns on offer; the shadows in this palette are superbly pigmented and blend really well, making it easy to create smokey eyes.

Another new addition to my collection this Fall is this compact sized travel palette from Clinique*(Travel Retail Exclusive); the shadows in this palette are so pigmented and blendable that you can apply them with your fingers and create soft Autumn looks easily on the go.

I’ve also been reaching for the shadows from my Colour Pop haul back in August a lot more in the past few weeks; Colour Pop shadows have a unique texture, somewhere between a cream and a powder that make them easy to apply, build intensity and wear as they have a barely-there feeling on the lids.

LIPS

img_3726

I was so excited to swap out my lip colours this month, and to go shopping for some new additions to my ever growing collection of lip products. Autumn lips are either one end of the extreme or the other, it’s either perfect nudes or dramatic darks.

I’ve added quite a few NYX lip products to the mix this season; now that NYX is available at Boots it’s easier to get your hands on their amazing products, and one thing NYX does really well is lips. I’ve purchased a few cult classics such as Stockholm and Copenhagen, as well as some of the Matte Lip sticks new Lip Lingerie’s. The formula of all NYX lip products are always comfortable to wear and the pigment never disappoints. The lip Lingerie liquid lipsticks are probably the most comfortable I’ve tried yet and there are some really good dupe colours for the Kylie Lip Kits.

I’ve also been reaching for a few Colour Pop liquid lipsticks from August’s hual, as well as a gorgeous No7 Stay Perfect lipstick in Auburn Whisper and the special edition Estée Lauder Pure Colour Envy lipstick in 220 Powerful. Finally, one lipstick that didn’t get packed away and has been a gorgeous transition colour is my Revlon Smoked Peach, I think this lipstick is a front runner for a 2016 Beauty Favourite as I keep going back to it and it pretty much lives in my handbag!

img_3706

*Select products were provided by the brand for review; all views and opinions are my own.